Skip to main content

Your Tewksbury Today

Sports Notebook: Petti Commits To Merrimack, MVC All-Conference, Shawsheen 5th At States

Feb 24, 2015 07:11PM ● By Bill Gilman
Former Tewksbury High hockey star Derek Petti will be continuing his career at Division 1 Merrimack College of Hockey East.
Petti made his announcement on his Twitter account.
This season, Petti has been playing for the Middlesex Black Bears, a junior prep team that operates out of Governor's Academy. He played in 2013-14 for Northwood Prep.

During his career at TMHS, Petti put together outstanding seasons as a junior (28-6-34) and senior (21-27-48) and graduated as one of the top scorers in program history with 130 points. He was named to the MVC/DCL All-Conference team three times and was Player of the Year as a senior.

His brother Ryan, a senior, set the all-time scoring mark at Tewksbury High this season.

Merrimack Valley Conference Names Basketball All-Conference Team

The Merrimack Valley Conference has announced its basketball All-Conference Teams and Players of the Year. 
Four members of the Tewksbury High boys team were honored in Division 2 Seniors Alex DiRocco and Nate Tenaglia were named Co-Players of the Year and Phil Connors was named Coach of the Year.
In addition, Justin Derrah was named to the All-Conference team.
No Tewksbury girls were named to the All-Conference team.
Here are the complete lists:


Division I Player of the Year: Wabissa Bede, North Andover 
Division II Co-Players of the Year: Alex Dirocco, Tewksbury; Nate Tenaglia, Tewksbury 

Division I Coach of the Year: Anthony Faradie, Methuen 
Division II Coach of the Year: Phil Conners, Tewksbury 

All Conference 
EJ Perry IV, Soph., Andover 
David Giribaldi, Sr., Andover 
Connor Merinder, Sr., Andover 
Josh Bradanese, Jr., Billerica 
Tanahj Pettway, Fr., Central Catholic 
Jack Campsmith, Sr., Chelmsford 
Navin Cruz, Soph., Haverhill 
Dante Neal, Jr., Lawrence 
Sean Bryan, Jr., Lowell 
John Paulino, Sr., Methuen 
Justin Derrah, Jr., Tewksbury 


Division I Player of the Year: Alyssa Casey, Andover 
Division II Player of the Year: Claire Markey, Chelmsford 

Division I Co-Coach of the Year: EJ Perry, Andover; Chris Doneski, Billerica 
Division II Coach of the Year: Kevin Branco, Chelmsford 

All Conference 
Jillian Webber, Andover 
Colleen Caveney, Andover 
Caroline Gillis, Billerica 
Caitlin Boermeester, Billerica 
Sara Dasilva, Chelmsford 
Annie Donahue, Chelmsford 
Genesis Santana, Lawrence 
Alexi Schecter, Lowell 
Leah Chittick, North Andover 
Megan Collins, North Andover

Shawsheen Tech Wrestling Places Fifth at Division 1 State Wrestling Tournament

The  Shawsheen Tech wrestling  Team  placed  5th  out of 72 schools in  the Division 1 State Tournament,  Friday  and  Saturday.

Jake  Ferri  (106  pounds)  was  Shawsheen's  first  sophomore  to  be  a  State  Champ. Bryce  Spinosa  (120) placed  4th, Josh  Merrifield   (145) placed  4th,  Efrain  Torres (152) placed  7th, Joe  Fusco  (220) placed  7th. Spinosa, Merrifield and Torres advance to the All-State Tournament this weekend in Salem.

Tewksbury High sent three wrestlers to the Division 2 State Tournament in Beverly. Broc Dokos had an outstanding meet for the Redmen. Dokos went 4-1 and placed 3rd at 195 pounds.

Ryan Bain went 0-2 at 170 and Jim Doran went 1-2 at 220.

Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @TewksburyToday Follow us on Instagram at YourTewksburyToday