Skip to main content

Your Tewksbury Today

Tewksbury Native Marsh Named MASCAC Softball Player Of The Year

May 17, 2015 08:31AM ● By Bill Gilman

Tiffanie Marsh of Framingham State. Photo courtesy MASCAC.

Editor's note: The following information was contained in a MASCAC press release.)

Tewksbury native Tiffanie Marsh, a sophomore at Framingham State, has been named MASCAC Softball Player Of The Year for 2015.
Marsh helped the Rams to a spot in the MASCAC Tournament and a 7-7 conference record. The 2014 MASCAC Rookie of the Year, Marsh finished the year fifth in batting average in the conference (.410), second in home runs (5), second in hits (41) and fourth in runs scored (30).

Worcester State's Meghan Rich was named the 2015 MASCAC Pitcher of the Year after helping Worcester State to the regular season title and the top seed in the MASCAC Tournament. The junior from Chelmsford, Mass. closed out the regular season with the conference's best ERA (1.53), total wins (15) and shutouts (8) while having the second most complete games (11). 

Salem State freshman Marisa Sanchez has been tabbed as the 2015 MASCAC Rookie of the Year after finishing second in the league with a. 429 batting average, first in on base percentage at .570 and runs scored with 35 while adding nine RBI and eight stolen bases to help the Vikings to an 8-6 conference mark. Worcester State's Michelle Cote was awarded by her peers the 2015 Champion's Choice Coach of the Year honors after leading the Lancers to an 11-3 conference record and top seed in the tournament.

Landing alongside Marsh, Rich and Sanchez on the MASCAC first team all-conference are Bridgewater State's Courtney Leddy, Jocelyn Bettencourt, Breanna Shaffer and Jackie Welch, Framingham State's Dayna Marchant, MCLA's Michaela Dinicola, Amanda Meczywor and Rachel Quackenbush, Westfield State's Maddy Atkocaitis and Worcester State's Hayley Terry and Sara Pelletier.

Earning a spot on the MASCAC second team all-conference are Bridgewater State's Kelly McCarthy and Karissa Pagan, Fitchburg State's Emily Comtois and Marissa Gemma, Framingham State's Bridget McGrail, Massachusetts Maritime's Alexis Jendzejec, Salem State's Rebecca Krigman and Jenn Toussaint and Westfield State's Emma Dunbar and Emily Mailloux.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's first Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom.  MASCAC core member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University.  Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men's ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2014.

Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @TewksburyToday Follow us on Instagram at YourTewksburyToday