Skip to main content

Your Tewksbury Today

Tewksbury School Department Crowns Spelling Bee W-I-N-N-E-R-S

Jun 15, 2015 01:21AM ● By Bill Gilman

Wynn School's Meghan Ostertag won the TEF 7th Grade Spelling Bee. She is congratulated by Superintendent of Schools John O'Connor.

(Editor's note: The following information was submitted by John Lyons, communications director for the Tewksbury Public Schools.)

The Tewksbury Public Schools and the Tewksbury Education Foundation sponsored the 2nd Annual Spelling Bee was held on June 8th and 9th at Tewksbury Memorial High School. Winners of the spelling bee are North Street 4th grader Royce Bacay, Ryan School 5th grader Hannah Kocsmiersky, Ryan School 6th grader Katherine Marquis, and Wynn 7th grader Meghan Ostertag. 

“The Tewksbury Education Foundation would like to thank the judges of this great event; Noelle Boc, Tewksbury Public Library Children’s Librarian, Deputy Police Chief John Voto, Tewksbury Fire Chief Michael Hazel, Tewksbury Town Manager Richard Montuori and Sharon Pierce”. 

Superintendent of Schools Dr. John O’Connor and Tewksbury School Committee member Jayne Miller led the two-night event. Tewksbury Education Foundation members, Erin Asselin, Laura Hulme, Jenn Malizia and Arthy Bennett, led sponsorship of the spelling bee. Special thanks goes to Sharon Pierce and Krissy Polimeno. 

The program is supported in part by a grant from the Tewksbury Cultural Council, a local agency that is supported by the Massachusetts Cultural Council, a state agency. 

The Tewksbury Educational Foundation is a community leader for the purpose of raising funds for student educational needs. Projects that have been funded have been school safety initiatives, STEM educational materials and school-based technology. Additional information concerning the Tewksbury Educational Foundation can be located at:

Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @TewksburyToday Follow us on Instagram at YourTewksburyToday