Skip to main content

Your Tewksbury Today

33 Students From Tewksbury Earn Adams Scholarships

Oct 30, 2015 10:55AM ● By Bill Gilman
(Editor's note: The following information was submitted by Shawsheen Tech.)

BILLERICA – For the second straight year, more than 90 seniors at Shawsheen Valley Technical High School earned the prestigious John and Abigail Adams Scholarship.

It’s the second straight year that 91 students have been honored, tied for the most in Shawsheen’s history. 

"It is particularly gratifying to see increasing numbers of Adams scholarship recipients at Shawsheen Tech each year,” said Tim Broadrick, Shawsheen’s Superintendent-Director. “This is a testament not only to the hard work of our dedicated professional staff, but also to the work ethic and resilience of our students. I couldn't be more proud."

Eligible students score in the Advanced category in either the Mathematics or the English Language Arts section of the Grade 10 MCAS test and score in the Proficient or Advanced category on the second subject (Mathematics or English Language Arts). These students also have a combined MCAS score on these assessments that ranks in the top 25 percent in their school district.

In all, 39 Billerica residents received the scholarship including Derek Abreu, Shaelyn Ahern, James Barden, Evan Boczenowski, Tyler Boutwell, Tyler Brown, Zachary Buckland, Christopher Burns, Anthony Cardaleen, Tyler Cormier, Casey DeCosta, Lucas DosSantos, Joanne Foster, Isabel Galinos, Anthony Godin, Noah Godwin, Caitlin Graham, Joshua Hallee, Kimberly Hayes, Matthew Hein, Charlotte Henderson, Bryanna Ippolito, Shayne Lanni, Nicholas Limberti, Shawn Lunt, Kerrie Malloy, Kasey Mearls, Cailee Mitchell, Connor Morey, Michael Moriconi, Lindsey Morris, Jake Nardello, Eileen O’Neill, Ryan Phelan, Eliana Purtell, Cameron Rebidue, Xenia Rodriguez, Lynne Snook and Joseph Taylor.

Thirty-three Tewksbury residents were honored, the most-ever in a year from Tewksbury. That group consisted of Shane Araujo, Lauren Barletta, Ryan Barry, Paul Browne, Cole Bugley, Scott Callahan, William Catyb, Steven Conley, Derek DeCost, Matthew Ducey, Michelle Farraher, Brenna Ferreira, Garrett Goempel, Olivia Gouveia, Cole Haley, Molly Harrington, Emilie Hines,  Janina Yutkins-Kennedy, Nicole Kopacz, Charles MacMillan, Nicole Malfa, Ashley McCreedy, Daniel McCrevan, Marie Merlino, Gabriella Molinar, Jackson Roane, Jared Roane, Haley Souza, Alexander Tate, Robert Temmallo, Katelyn Vocell, David Volpe and Steven Wink.

Wilmington scholarship winners were Andrew Brown, Rachel Canty, Michelle Doucette, Sarah King, Kaitlyn McLaren, Connor O’Brien, Brendan O’Flaherty, Thomas Prior, Damian Rachdorf, Katelyn Stevens, Adam Surette and Sean Walsh.

Seven Burlington students honored including Dennis DelFavero, Austin Hamilton, Elisabeth Heghinian, Jessica Keddy, Allan McCombs, Meredith Meehan and Cameron Tierney.

Students awarded John and Abigail Adams Scholarship by the Department of Education receive full tuition to state universities.

Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @TewksburyToday Follow us on Instagram at YourTewksburyToday