Skip to main content

Your Tewksbury Today

Election 2016: School Committee Race Gets Fifth Potential Candidate

Jan 19, 2016 10:49AM ● By Bill Gilman
With just under a month to go before the deadline to return nomination papers, more and more residents are dipping their toes into the electoral waters.
Erin Knyff, a vocal advocate for Special Education, is the latest to take out nomination papers for School Committee, bringing to five the number of candidates seeking two available seats. She joins challengers Keith Sullivan, Arthy Bennett and Cheryl Garrity and incumbent Krissy Polimeno. Incumbent Jayne Miller has not yet taken out nomination papers, nor has she announced her plans to run or not.
Sullivan became the first candidate in any of the races to return his nomination papers and have them verified by Town Clerk Denise Graffeo.
The Planning Board race also appears to be contested with potential challenger Stephen Deakoff taking out nomination papers last week. Deakoff would be challenging incumbent Stephen Johnson, who had previously taken out papers.
The following candidates have taken out nomination papers  for the 2016 Tewksbury Municipal Election, as of Tuesday, Jan. 19:

I -- Incumbents
X -- Has returned nomination papers

Board of Selectmen (2 Seats, 3-year terms)

I -- Jim Wentworth 

I -- Todd Johnson

Robert Rosa

Anne Marie Stronach

School Committee (2 Seats, 3-year terms)

I -- Krissy Polimeno 

Arthy Bennett

X -- Keith Sullivan

Cheryl Garrity

Erin Knyff

Planning Board (1 Seat, 5-year term)

 I -- Stephen Johnson

Stephen Deakoff

Library Trustee ( 2 Seats, 3-year terms.)

I -- Joseph Frank

Board of Health (2 Seats, 3-year terms)

George Ferdinand

Housing Authority (1 Seat, 5-year term)

I -- Marc DiFruscia

Shawsheen Regional Technical High School Committee (1 Seat, 3-year term)

I -- Patricia Meuse

Nomination papers for Tewksbury town offices are available at the Town Clerk’s Office, Town Hall, 1009 Main St. 
Office hours are Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM. Offices open for election in the year 2016 are:
  • 2 positions on the Board of Selectmen (3 year term)
  • 2 positions on the School Committee (3 year term)
  • 1 position on the Planning Board (5 year term)
  • 2 positions for Library Trustee (3 year term)
  • 2 positions on the Board of Health (3 year term)
  • 1 position on the Housing Authority (5 year term)
  • 1 position on the Shawsheen Regional Technical High School Committee
The Annual Town Election will be held on Saturday, April 2, 2016, from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. The last day for candidates to file their nomination papers is Tuesday, February 16, 2016 before 5:00 PM, at the Town Clerk’s Office,TOWN HALL, 1009 Main Street. FIFTY (50) valid registered Tewksbury voter’s signatures and addresses are required.
Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @TewksburyToday Follow us on Instagram at YourTewksburyToday