Skip to main content

Your Tewksbury Today

Election 2016: Sixth Candidate Takes Out Nomination Papers School Committee

Feb 01, 2016 07:04PM ● By Bill Gilman
The wide-open race for two seats on the Tewksbury School Committee just got a little bit more wide open.
Jeff Sands of Kimberly Drive took out out nomination papers last week, becoming the sixth potential candidate in the race. Sands is the former business manager for the Tewksbury School District and is presently the assistant superintendent for Finance & Administration in the Hamilton-Wenham School District.
Sands joins incumbent Krissy Polimeno and challengers Erin Knyff, Cheryl Garrity, Keith Sullivan and Arthy Bennett in taking out papers. Polimeno and Sullivan have already returned their papers and secured places on the ballot.
Incumbent Jayne Miller has not yet taken out nomination papers and has yet to announce if she is seeking re-election.
As of Feb. 1, the only other candidate to return papers and have their nomination papers verified is incumbent Planning Board member Stephen Johnson.
The following candidates have taken out nomination papers  for the 2016 Tewksbury Municipal Election, as of Feb. 1:

I -- Incumbents
X -- Has returned nomination papers

Board of Selectmen (2 Seats, 3-year terms)

I -- Jim Wentworth 

I -- Todd Johnson

Robert Rosa

Anne Marie Stronach

School Committee (2 Seats, 3-year terms)

X I -- Krissy Polimeno 

Arthy Bennett

X -- Keith Sullivan

Cheryl Garrity

Erin Knyff

Jason Sands

Planning Board (1 Seat, 5-year term)

 X I -- Stephen Johnson

Stephen Deakoff

Library Trustee ( 2 Seats, 3-year terms.)

I -- Joseph Frank

Board of Health (2 Seats, 3-year terms)

George Ferdinand

Housing Authority (1 Seat, 5-year term)

I -- Marc DiFruscia

Shawsheen Regional Technical High School Committee (1 Seat, 3-year term)

I -- Patricia Meuse

Nomination papers for Tewksbury town offices are available at the Town Clerk’s Office, Town Hall, 1009 Main St. 
Office hours are Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM. Offices open for election in the year 2016 are:
  • 2 positions on the Board of Selectmen (3 year term)
  • 2 positions on the School Committee (3 year term)
  • 1 position on the Planning Board (5 year term)
  • 2 positions for Library Trustee (3 year term)
  • 2 positions on the Board of Health (3 year term)
  • 1 position on the Housing Authority (5 year term)
  • 1 position on the Shawsheen Regional Technical High School Committee
The Annual Town Election will be held on Saturday, April 2, 2016, from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. The last day for candidates to file their nomination papers is Tuesday, February 16, 2016 before 5:00 PM, at the Town Clerk’s Office,TOWN HALL, 1009 Main Street. FIFTY (50) valid registered Tewksbury voter’s signatures and addresses are required.

Click here for more stories on the 2016 Tewksbury Municipal Election
Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @TewksburyToday Follow us on Instagram at YourTewksburyToday