Skip to main content

Your Tewksbury Today

Election 2016: Board of Health Race Opens Up, More Candidates Lock Up Spots On Ballot

Feb 11, 2016 09:38AM ● By Bill Gilman


You can add Board of Health to the list of wide open races in the 2016 Tewksbury Municipal Election.
Robert Scarano and Anthony Boschetti have each taken out nomination papers, joining George Ferdinand in what could be a three-way race for two available seats. Those seats are presently occupied Phil French and Christine Kinnon, neither of whom has taken out nomination papers, as of Feb. 11.
Scarano, who lives on Pleasant Street, is an attorney, while Boschetti, who lives on Patten Road, is a local dentist. To date, neither Scarano, Boschetti, nor Ferdinand has returned nomination papers.
The single seat available on the Planning Board is now officially a race. Incumbent Stephen Johnson and challenger Stephen Deakoff have both returned nomination papers and had the signatures verified.
In the potential six-way race for two seats on the School Committee, Arthy Bennett, incumbent Krissy Polimeno and Keith Sullivan have all returned nomination papers. Potential challengers Erin Knyff, Cheryl Garrity and Jeff Sands have not yet returned papers. Incumbent Jayne Miller has yet to take out nomination papers.
In the race for two seats on the Board of Selectmen, incumbent Todd Johnson and challenger Anne Marie Stronach have returned nomination papers. Potential challenger Robert Rosa has not yet returned his papers, while incumbent Jim Wentworth has announced he will not be seeking re-election.

The following candidates have taken out nomination papers  for the 2016 Tewksbury Municipal Election, as of Feb. 1:

I -- Incumbents
X -- Has returned nomination papers

Board of Selectmen (2 Seats, 3-year terms)

I -- Jim Wentworth (Will not be seeking re-election)

I -- Todd Johnson

Robert Rosa

X -- Anne Marie Stronach

School Committee (2 Seats, 3-year terms)

X I -- Krissy Polimeno 

X -- Arthy Bennett

X -- Keith Sullivan

Cheryl Garrity

Erin Knyff

Jeffrey Sands

Planning Board (1 Seat, 5-year term)

 X I -- Stephen Johnson

X -- Stephen Deakoff

Library Trustee ( 2 Seats, 3-year terms.)

X I -- Joseph Frank

Board of Health (2 Seats, 3-year terms)

George Ferdinand

Robert Scarano

Anthony Boschetti

Housing Authority (1 Seat, 5-year term)

I -- Marc DiFruscia

Shawsheen Regional Technical High School Committee (1 Seat, 3-year term)

X I -- Patricia Meuse

Nomination papers for Tewksbury town offices are available at the Town Clerk’s Office, Town Hall, 1009 Main St. 
Office hours are Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM. Offices open for election in the year 2016 are:
  • 2 positions on the Board of Selectmen (3 year term)
  • 2 positions on the School Committee (3 year term)
  • 1 position on the Planning Board (5 year term)
  • 2 positions for Library Trustee (3 year term)
  • 2 positions on the Board of Health (3 year term)
  • 1 position on the Housing Authority (5 year term)
  • 1 position on the Shawsheen Regional Technical High School Committee
The Annual Town Election will be held on Saturday, April 2, 2016, from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. The last day for candidates to file their nomination papers is Tuesday, February 16, 2016 before 5:00 PM, at the Town Clerk’s Office,TOWN HALL, 1009 Main Street. FIFTY (50) valid registered Tewksbury voter’s signatures and addresses are required.
Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @TewksburyToday Follow us on Instagram at YourTewksburyToday