Skip to main content

Your Tewksbury Today

Election 2019: Tewksbury Nomination Period Opens With A Bang

Jan 11, 2019 05:04PM ● By Bill Gilman

The 2019 Tewksbury Municipal Election season is underway and just one week into the nomination period, announcements have been made that lay the foundation for the most wide-open, lively campaign's in recent years.

As of Jan. 11, just nine days after nominations opened, 14 candidates had already taken out nomination papers for various offices.

At the top of the ballot, incumbent selectmen Anne Marie Stronach and Todd Johnson have taken out nomination papers, declaring their intent to seek re-election. Johnson is seeking his fifth three-year term, while Stronach will be seeking her fourth term overall, and second since a brief hiatus.

Johnson and Stronach are popular figures in local politics. However, another well-knows official has already joined the battle. Town Moderator and former School Committee member Jayne Wellman has taken out nomination papers to challenge for a BOS seat.

"I’m looking forward to a positive, issues oriented campaign. I hope you’ll join our team in working for resident-driven sustainable growth in Tewksbury and keeping our community affordable for all ages," said Wellman, in announcing her decision to run on her Facebook page.

Meanwhile, the School Committee is guaranteed to have two new faces. Three-term incumbent Krissy Polimeno and one-term incumbent Arthy Bennett have both publicly declared that they will not be seeking re-election, opening the doors wide open for prospective candidates.

"I think it's just the right time to step aside and focus on other things," said Polimeno. "I want to focus on my family and volunteering and some other interests I have."

Already, Erin Kynff (who ran unsuccessfully in 2016) and John Stadtman have pulled nomination papers and the emergence of additional candidates is likely.

Nomination papers for Town of Tewksbury elected offices will be available at the Town Clerk’s Office,Town Hall, 1009 Main Street, beginning Wednesday, January 2, 2019.  Office hours are Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM.

Status of races as of Friday, Jan. 11:

Board of Selectmen (2 Seats)

I -Todd R. Johnson (P)

I - Anne Marie Stronach (P)

Jayne Wellman Miller (P)

School Committee (2 Seats)

I - Arati “Arthy” S. Bennett (has announced she will not be running)

I - Kristen M. Polimeno (has announced she will not be running)

Erin  Knyff (P)

John Stadtman (P)

Planning Board (1 Seat)

I - Vincent S. Fratalia (P)

Board of Library Trustees (2 Seats)

I - Joseph C. Frank (P)

I - Laura L. Harrington (P)

Board of Health (2 Seats)

I - Anthony M. Boschetti (P)

I - George H. Ferdinand (P)

Kylee Perrotta (P)

Maria Zaroulis (P)

Shawsheen Regional Technical High School Committee (1 Seat)

I - Patricia M W Meuse (P)

Housing Authority (1 Seat)

I - Louise A. Gearty

John Deputat (P)


I - Incumbent

(P) - Has pulled nomination papers

(R) - Has returned nomination papers

(B) - Is officially on the ballot

The Annual Town Election will be held on Saturday, April 6, 2019, from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. The last day for candidates to file their nomination papers is Tuesday, February 19, 2019 before 5:00 PM, at the Town Clerk’s Office.  FIFTY (50) valid registered Tewksbury voter’s signatures and addresses are required.

Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @TewksburyToday Follow us on Instagram at YourTewksburyToday