Skip to main content

Your Tewksbury Today

Tewksbury Municipal Election Nomination Period Off To A Slow Start

Jan 24, 2020 03:11PM ● By Bill Gilman
The nomination period is underway, officially kicking off the 2020 Tewksbury Municipal Election  season.
The first two weeks of the nomination period have been slow, with just nine potential candidates taking out papers and just two having their nomination signatures certified.
School Committee incumbent Keith Sullivan, seeking his second term, has locked up his place on the April 4 ballot. Incumbent Library Trustee Lorraine H. Carriere, likewise, has secured her slot on the ballot.
Incumbents Jay Kelly (Selectmen), Patrick Joyce (Library Trustees), Scott Wilson (School Committee 1 year term), Charles Roux (Board of Health), Eric Ryder (Planning Board) have all taken out papers.
Challenger Robert Demers has taken out papers of a seat on the Housing Authority. And Todd Johnson, who was unseated last April after four terms  on the Board of Selectmen, has taken out papers to run for the vacant position of Town Moderator. 
Nomination papers are available at the Town Clerk’s Office, Town Hall, 1009 Main St. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM.
The last day for candidates to file their nomination papers is Friday, February 14, 2020 before 5:00 PM. 

Offices open for 2020 and nomination status as of Jan. 23:

Board of Selectmen (1 Seat)
(I) Jay J. Kelly - Has taken out nomination papers

School Committee - 3 year term (1 Seat)
(I) Keith M. Sullivan  - Has had his nomination papers certified.

School Committee - 1 year unexpired term (1 Seat) (Resulting from Dennis Francis’ resignation)
(I) Scott D. Wilson -- Has taken out nomination papers

Planning Board (1 Seat)
(I) Eric M. Ryder -- Has taken out nomination papers

Board of Library Trustees (2 Seats)
(I) Lorraine H. Carriere -- Has had her nomination papers certified.
(I) Patrick J. Joyce -- Has taken out nomination papers

Board of Health (1 Seat)
(I) Charles J. Roux -- Has taken out nomination papers

Housing Authority (1 Seat)
(I) Linda Ricardo-Brabant 
Robert Demers -- Has taken out nomination papers

Town Moderator (1 seat)
Currently Vacant
Todd Johnson has taken out nomination papers

The Annual Town Election will be held on Saturday, April 4, 2020, from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. Fifty (50) valid registered Tewksbury voters' signatures and addresses are required.
Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @TewksburyToday Follow us on Instagram at YourTewksburyToday