Skip to main content

Your Tewksbury Today

Election 2020: Potential School Committee Race Emerges, As Challenger Takes Out Papers

Feb 03, 2020 02:51PM ● By Bill Gilman
With less than two weeks to go before the nomination period deadline, the 2020 Tewksbury Municipal Election has its first potential contested race.
Sarah Steele of Pocohantas Road has taken out nomination papers for the three-year term on the School Committee.
That seat is presently occupied by Keith Sullivan, who is seeking re-election to a second term and has already been certified by the Town Clerk for a place on the April 4 ballot.
Incumbents Jay Kelly (Selectmen), Lorraine H. Carriere (Library Trustee) and Eric Ryder (Planning Board), have also secured their slots on the ballot.
Incumbents Patrick Joyce (Library Trustees), Scott Wilson (School Committee 1 year term) and Charles Roux (Board of Health),  have all taken out papers.
Challenger Robert Demers has taken out papers of a seat on the Housing Authority. And Todd Johnson, who was unseated last April after four terms  on the Board of Selectmen, has taken out papers to run for the vacant position of Town Moderator. 
Nomination papers are available at the Town Clerk’s Office, Town Hall, 1009 Main St. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM.
The last day for candidates to file their nomination papers is Friday, February 14, 2020 before 5:00 PM. 

Offices open for 2020 and nomination status as of Feb. 3 :

Board of Selectmen (1 Seat)
(I) Jay J. Kelly - Has had his nomination papers certified.

School Committee - 3 year term (1 Seat)
(I) Keith M. Sullivan  - Has had his nomination papers certified.
Sara Steele - Has taken out nomination papers

School Committee - 1 year unexpired term (1 Seat) (Resulting from Dennis Francis’ resignation)
(I) Scott D. Wilson -- Has taken out nomination papers

Planning Board (1 Seat)
(I) Eric M. Ryder -- Has had his nomination papers certified.

Board of Library Trustees (2 Seats)
(I) Lorraine H. Carriere -- Has had her nomination papers certified.
(I) Patrick J. Joyce -- Has taken out nomination papers

Board of Health (1 Seat)
(I) Charles J. Roux -- Has taken out nomination papers

Housing Authority (1 Seat)
(I) Linda Ricardo-Brabant 
Robert Demers -- Has taken out nomination papers

Town Moderator (1 seat)
Currently Vacant
Todd Johnson has taken out nomination papers

The Annual Town Election will be held on Saturday, April 4, 2020, from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. Fifty (50) valid registered Tewksbury voters' signatures and addresses are required.
Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @TewksburyToday Follow us on Instagram at YourTewksburyToday